Barra da Tijuca, my favourite beach in Rio

Relaxing in Barra Beach

Relaxing in Barra Beach

My favourite beach to spend a sunny day in Rio is not Copacabana, Ipanema or  Leblon. It is Barra beach!

I can remember the first time I was there. I was around 15 years old when my older brother took me and my sister there. The long stretch of sand and the clear blue sea won my heart and my soul. Since then Barra is the beach I got used to go on sunny or cloudy days, in summer or winter.

When I was single I used to go there with my sister and friends.  When I met my husband we used to stay on the beach with a couple of friends until the sun goes down, enjoying the water or  playing “frescobol”( a popular beach game in Rio, in which two players hit a small ball back and forth using paddles) during the summer afternoons. And that was part of the  beginning of our romance.

Now that we are a family, me, my husband and my little son, we chose Barra as our favourite beach.

Kids playing near the water

Kids playing near the water

IMG_2108 IMG_2114 IMG_2116

Beautiful sea for a dive, but be careful with strong currents

Beautiful sea for a dive, but be careful with strong currents

Myself!

Myself!

Many families choose Barra as their favourite beach

Many families choose Barra as their favourite beach

The ball in the sky

The ball in the sky

Nice beach to practice sports

Nice beach to practice sports

IMG_2167

Dad and kid playing soccer

Dad and kid playing soccer

Because of its distance from other neighborhoods, even in summer time, when most of the beaches in Rio are crowded, we can find a vacant space on the sand of Barra beach.

Barra Beach is in Rio’s west zone, in Barra da  Tijuca, a distant neighborhood from Rio’s downtown and  south zone. So it might be difficult to get there  and to move around if you don’t have a car.

But if you’re visiting Rio consider at least taking a one-day trip to this great beach! It is definitely worth the visit!

12 comments

    1. Claudia, que bom que gostou das fotos! Engraçado aqui no Brasil usamos a seguinte expressão “branca igual papel” para quem tem pele mais clara ou “amarelo escritório” para as morenas mais claras. Beijinhos, Cristina

Leave a comment

