Morning stroll in downtown Rio

This morning between two appointments in downtown Rio I took the opportunity to observe the beautiful architecture of some historical buildings.

Many Rio residents don’t like being in downtown Rio. This neighborhood is a financial and commercial area, with many public and company buildings, which might remind them of work and obligations, but I totally disagree. I love when I have spare time to spend in downtown looking up and finding the beautiful architecture of the historical buildings.  And every time I go, I always get surprised with something new to my eyes.

Those are the snapshots I took today with a point-and-shoot camera. (I still don’t feel confident to go out hanging my DSLR camera in downtown, but this is another story I intend to explore in another post.)

Palácio Tiradentes - Tiradentes Palace - the seat of Rio de Janeiro's Legislative Assembly

Palácio Tiradentes – Tiradentes Palace – the seat of Rio de Janeiro’s Legislative Assembly

Nossa Senhora do Carmo Church

Nossa Senhora do Carmo Church

Centro Cultural Justiça Eleitoral

Centro Cultural Justiça Eleitoral

Rua da Candelária - Candelária Street

Rua da Candelária – Candelária Street

A cute "sobrado" (old building) in the corner of Rua do Ouvidor and Rua da Quitanda

A cute “sobrado” (old town house) in the corner of Rua do Ouvidor and Rua da Quitanda

I hope you like them! 

6 comments

  1. Oh I love the old buildings of Rio. Seeing your pictures takes me back to the wonderful time I had when I visited Rio!

    1. It’s good to know that my photos somewhow is making you and other people “visit” Rio and learning a litte more about it. For those who never came to Rio might think that Rio is only beaches and carnival, and there is too much more, as you might have seen! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment

