The 100th birthday of our “Little Poet”

Today we celebrate the 100th birthday of Vinicius de Moraes. He was carioca, and he was and will always be our “little poet” as we, Brazilians, usually call him!

Vinicius caricature poster,  on my kids School

Vinicius cartoon, on my kids School earlier this morning

Vinicius is one of the most important bossa nova composers and did a lot of partnerships with Tom Jobim. “Garota de Ipanema” (The Girl from Ipanema) is one of their most famous songs, and even those who are not familiar with bossa nova might know this version in the voice of Frank Sinatra and Tom Jobim.

Vinicius was not a great singer, but he was blessed with a great talent with the letters. Besides being a poet, he was a composer, musician, playwritght and lyricist, as well.

I share with you bellow my favourite Vinicius sonnet. First in portuguese, and then in english, in a version I found here .

Soneto de Fidelidade

De tudo ao meu amor serei atento
Antes, e com tal zelo, e sempre, e tanto
Que mesmo em face do maior encanto
Dele se encante mais meu pensamento.Quero vivê-lo em cada vão momento
E em seu louvor hei de espalhar meu canto
E rir meu riso e derramar meu pranto
Ao seu pesar ou seu contentamentoE assim, quando mais tarde me procure
Quem sabe a morte, angústia de quem vive
Quem sabe a solidão, fim de quem amaEu possa me dizer do amor (que tive):
Que não seja imortal, posto que é chama
Mas que seja infinito enquanto dure.

Sonnet of Fidelity

Above all, to my love I’ll be attentive
First and always, with care and so much
That even when facing the greatest enchantment
By love be more enchanted my thoughts.I want to live it through in each vain moment
And in its honor I’ll spread my song
And laugh my laughter and cry my tears
When you are sad or when you are content.And thus, when later comes looking for me
Who knows, the death, anxiety of the living,
Who knows, the loneliness, end of all loversI’ll be able to say to myself of the love (I had):
Be not immortal, since it is flame
But be infinite while it lasts.

10 comments

      1. Thank you for the link. He was married several times, was one of the founders of Bossa Nova and he drank a lot. He enjoyed his life. What an interesting person. He affect people like me since I love Bossa Nova.

  1. He is really great! It’s difficult to choose one of his sonnets… And there’s the production for children, that is very special too. It was an important part of the childhood of many many people.

    I specially like this one: ‘Chega de saudade’

    Vai minha tristeza
    E diz a ela que sem ela não pode ser
    Diz-lhe numa prece
    Que ela regresse
    Porque não posso mais sofrer
    Chega de saudade
    A realidade é que sem ela
    Não há paz Não há beleza
    É só tristeza e a melancolia
    Que não sai de mim
    Não sai de mim
    Não sai
    Mas, se ela voltar
    Se ela voltar que coisa linda!
    Que coisa louca!
    Pois há menos peixinhos a nadar no mar
    Do que os beijinhos
    Que eu darei na sua boca
    Dentro dos meus braços, os abraços
    Hão de ser milhões de abraços
    Apertado assim, colado assim, calada assim,
    Abraços e beijinhos e carinhos sem ter fim
    Que é pra acabar com esse negócio
    De você longe de mim
    Não quero mais esse negócio
    De você viver sem mim
    Vamos deixar esse negócio
    De você viver sem mim…

    Link: http://www.vagalume.com.br/vinicius-de-moraes/chega-de-saudade.html#ixzz2iLslmgeN

    And the translation:
    Go my sadness and tell her that without her
    It can’t be, tell her in a prayer
    That she comes back, because I can’t
    Suffer more, reality is enough longing
    And without her there’s no peace, there’s no beauty
    There’s only sadness and melancholy
    That doesn’t leave me, doesn’t leave me, doesn’t leave

    But is she comes back, if she comes back,
    What a beautiful thing, what a crazy thing
    Because there is less little fishes swimming in the ocean
    Than the little kisses I give you
    In your mouth, inside my arms
    The hungs have to be, millions hungs
    Very fast, all together, silent like this
    Hungs and little kisses and caresses without end
    To finish with this affair of yours
    To live without me. I don’t want this thing

    Leia mais em http://lyricstranslate.com/en/chega-de-saudade-chega-de-saudade.html-0#rCxHWWQ4lu9JZSkA.99

  2. Adoro Vinicius! Sinto um orgulho especial quando vou a um restaurante ou bar por aqui e ouvo Garota de Ipanema! Meninas, obrigada pela pela traducao dos trabalhos do Vinicius para o ingles. Vou fazer uma colinha e copiar num cartao para o meu maridao! Beijos

Leave a comment

