A blessed day

It is so funny how life can surprise us with little special things that really can make our day happier and filled with good thoughts.

Today I was walking around in Lapa neighborhood, after solving a family issue around there, and just met casually a good friend. It was really a good surprise! She was the kind of company I was just needing to discuss about my lately mother concerns, the chosen of the right school for my boy. He is just about to leave the pre-school and next year starts in the primary school, and me and my husband has been debating exhaustively about which is the best school for him and for us, as a family.

But talking about surprises, my friendship with this girl I met today was really a good surprise in my life. We worked together in the same company some years ago and by that time we were just work colleagues. But  some years later, we were supposed to meet again in another company and this time we had the opportunity to know each other better and to discover many things in common. Surprisingly she turned to be one of my best friends and the one for whom I ask for advice when I find myself confused about motherhood and all the concerns that involves educating children in this crazy world!

We had a lovely time together, and her advises calmed down my mum heart.

After we said goodbye to each other, I just felt in the mood of entering the Saint Anthony Church I just had passed by when we we’re going to the restaurant. And that was definitely another great surprise in this day.

It was my first time in this church and I arrived in the final part of a mass. I’m really not the kind of religious girl who attend the mass often, although I’m trying to change this lately. It was the moment of the blessing, and  the atmosphere was filled with such a positive vibration that I just couldn’t leave. While praying I thanked God for life I and for all the good and true friends I have. Each of them specialized in a  particular field of my heart.

Besides this special moment,  this church, from 1940, was recently restored and  is really worth visiting for its beauty.  During the renovation construction the original hydraulic tiled floor of the first Saint Anthony Chapel, from 1810, was found and it is another good surprise.

After the mass finished I stayed a little more, and snapped some photos with my cell phone, hoping to come back soon to this beautiful and peaceful temple. It was a great way to start my weekend! Have a nice weekend everyone!!

Igreja Santo Antônio dos Pobres
Rua dos Inválidos, 42 – Centro

5 comments

  1. I drift back and forth about a lot of things but I firmly believe there’s a higher force out there that listens. I find sitting a church in a time of confusion to be calming. I understand some of what you may have felt.

  2. It is a beautiful church and God seems to listen and send good friends on our way to calm our heart when we need. I am glad that your friend help you. Motherhood is one of the most difficult jobs and sometimes we need somebody tthat is not emotionally involve to lead us on the right way. xoxo

  3. Esteve aqui pertinho, Cris! Agora que estou trabalhando do lado desta igreja, já entrei nela para rezar na hora do almoço. Nunca tinha ido antes…

Leave a comment

