Infinite Obssession in CCBB Rio de Janeiro

As a polka dots lover, I was very curious to see the exhibition Infinite Obsession, in Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil (CCBB), by the japanese artist Yayoi Kusama, and last week I finally had the opportunity!

I didn’t know any of Kusama’s work before,and it was my first time in touch with her art. Besides her weird obssession for phallic symbols, her polka dots inspired paintings and installations were really good. The whole exhibition takes three floors in CCBB and it is really worth the visit.

I got very surprised of how CCBB was crowded for Kusama’s exhibition.  That was a little annoying because I couldn’t enjoy the exhibition the way I like, reading all the details about the art pieces.  But I still had a great time there!

For those who are following my blog for a while, might already have noticed how I like art exhibitions and CCBB this year is hosting great art exhibitions.

I’m already waiting anxiously for the next exhibition in CCBB.

If you happen to be in Rio de Janeiro, pay a visit to CCBB, Kusama’s exhibition will be on CCBB until january 20th.

Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil Rio de Janeiro
Rua Primeiro de Março, 66 – Centro – Wednesday to Mondays,  9am to 9 pm

2013-10-25 14.26.55 DSC03295 DSC03287 DSC03291 2013-10-25 14.42.37 2013-10-25 14.45.34 2013-10-25 14.52.30 DSC03285 DSC03286 DSC03284
11 comments

  1. Estou planejando ver esta exposição. Também não conheço nada desta artista e me interessei assim que vi a propaganda. Assim que der uma brechinha, vou lá!

  2. I think you cannot drink and look at the art. My head would have been spin, however the photos of the building housing the installation looks magnificent.

    1. Yes,I totally agree with you! : ) Drinking and going to this exhibition is not a good idea! Specially if you are going in one of the installations in the dark! But her paintings are also beautiful, but unfortunately we were not allowed to take pictures of them. If you are curious, try to google Yayoi Kusama paintings, the results you lead you images of some of her paintings!

Leave a comment

