A Book Sanctuary in Rio, the National Library

There are some things that I would never understand in my life. And not visiting the National Library of Rio de Janeiro along the many  years I was a student is one of them.

As a book lover, libraries always fascinated me. I don’t know why I but I always found them charming!

When I was at College I used to spent a lot of time in many of them doing researches or just studying. And the only reason I find for not having visited the National Library in that time was the distance from the university campus to downtown Rio, where the National Library is situated.

In fact, I had already been to the National Library hall but never in any of the many reading rooms, and that’s why I was so frustrated about it.

But the week before I took my mini vacation, after running errands in downtown I decided to tick off from my list of places to visit and attended a guided tour in the National Library of Rio de Janeiro.

It was great to learn a little more about the history of the library and I got very impressed to know that it is considered the largest library in Latin America.

A gentle guide leaded us through the main rooms of the library explaining from the architecture of the building to curiosities about the huge collection of the library.

It was one hour of culture and history!!!

For anyone visiting Rio and interested in learning a little more about the historical Rio de Janeiro should visit it and take this tour. They provide the guided tour every hour from 10 am to 5 pm, from monday to friday, in the following languages: english, spanish and french.

Unfortunately it is not allowed to take photos during the tour.  Those pictures bellow I took in the Main Hall after our guided tour ended.

Biblioteca Nacional do Rio de Janeiro – Avenida Rio Branco, 219 – Cinelândia – Rio de Janeiro

IMG_4882 IMG_4883 IMG_4884 IMG_4885 IMG_4886 IMG_4888
One comment

  1. I used to go there when I was in Law School, but back then I was always in a hurry to finish my college project that I never really appreciate the beauty of the building! Another thing on my to do list, next time I visit Rio. Xoxo

Leave a comment

