Rooftop pool in JW Marriott Copacabana

Tired of crowds, scorching sands and the freezing water in Rio beaches in the last two weekends we decided trying something different to cool down. I had read some weeks before that some hotels in “zona sul”(Rio’s south zone) were offering a day pass to use their pools for one day, the “day use”.

So, on a saturday morning we decided to try the JW Marriott Hotel day pass to use the pool for a day. Arriving there we (the three of us, me, my husband and son) asked in the hotel’s front desk if the day pass was available that day. The attendant leaded us to the elevator that would take us to the roof top where we could get all the information about the day pass in the rooftop reception.

The day pass costs R$110,00(~US$45) per adult (children under 8 don’t have to pay). This rate includes the use of the pool, sauna  and the gym club. There is a limited number of day passes available depending on the hotel’s occupation rate. On that saturday there was just more 2 day passes left. Perfect for us!!!

After following the  check in procedures, basically filling up the check in form and paying the rate, we got into the pool area.

The view from the rooftop of this 17 floors building is fantastic. We were able to see all Copacabana Beach, the Sugar Loaf and even Christ The Redeemer.

DSC03529 DSC03530 DSC03533

We had a great time there! My husband and I took turns playing in the pool with our boy and relaxing on the chairs by the pool.

DSC03549

After a lot of fun  we were all hungry and ordered cheeseburgers for lunch in the pool’s bar.

DSC03537

When we were all too tired of  the sun, we decided to leave, that day we still would have a night picnic party and we had to save energy for later. But before leaving we still had time to enjoy a cup of espresso in the lobby’s bar.

DSC03559 DSC03560 DSC03563

The only thing I regret is that I didn’t take my DSLR camera with me. I was afraid of getting too worried about not letting my camera get wet and not enjoying our time together. So I chose to leave it at home and took with me only my small point-and-shoot camera.

Anyway, the view is so gorgeous that I liked the photos!! I hope you enjoy them too!

JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro – Avenida Atlantica, 2600 – Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro – Phone: 55 – 21-2545-6500

3 comments

Leave a comment

