A little break from World Cup, a Guyana experience by guest blogger Jess

In 16 days the World Cup Begins, and the World will turn attention to Brazil, the largest country of South America. But South America is much more than Brazil, there are so many other beautiful and interesting countries, like Guyana.

My friend Jessica from the great blog Turquoise Compass, shares with us why she found Guyana one of her favourite countries in South America. I hope you enjoy it!

================================================================

10 Reasons Why You Should Visit Guyana 

When people think about South America they automatically think about countries like Argentina, Chile, Brazil, or Peru. Guyana is often left out. Guyana is a unique and diverse South American country few people choose to visit. Guyana is one of my favorite countries because of its various foods (roti, curry, rice & beans, carrots & rice, fried chicken, chick peas, stew, stir fry, homemade fresh juices, etc…yum!), lush natural environment, waterfalls, and the friendly and welcoming people. I have a thousand reasons why I love Guyana. Here are just a few details why you should visit Guyana based on my personal experiences traveling throughout the country for three weeks. Visiting Kaieteur Falls alone is well worth a journey to Guyana.
1. City life. Georgetown is the capital and the largest city in Guyana-the culture (and booming music) on every street corner is energizing

City Life

City Life

2. Souvenirs. Guyana is world renowned for its gold

Souvenirs

Souvenirs

3. Natural Environment. Guyana has one of the world’s highest one drop waterfalls at 741 feet high: Kaieteur Falls (among other grand waterfalls and mountain ranges)

Natural Environment

Natural Environment

4. Bang for your buck. The exchange rate is approximately $200 Guyanese dollars for every Canadian dollar (as of July 1st, 2013 it was 194.4529 GYD)

Bang for your buck

Bang for your buck

5. Affordable. It costs approximately $500 Guyanese dollars per person for the average taxi ride and a typical meal costs approximately $1000-$1500

Affordable

Affordable

6. Authentic. In places like Lethem (a remote inland village on the border of Brazil and Guyana), due to previous floods in the Rupannuni, red dirt flood-stains could still be seen in the reception area almost a meter up the wall at the guest house where I was staying. They used milk crates during the time of the flood to try to continue a sense of normality even during the chaos. People are living life to the fullest regardless of what has happened in the village. The people are eternally happy. I enjoyed watching the children running and playing outside of the guest house.

Authentic

Authentic

7. Real experiences. Sleeping under a mosquito net is common in Guyana for tourists to avoid the risk of potentially contracting malaria or dengue fever (although it is unlikely). Guyana was my first destination where I was encouraged to use a mosquito net. It made my experience more real.

Real

Real

8. Stories. Guyanese love to talk (they are known to use their hands while they are talking)! Their storytelling ability is a true gift!

Stories

Stories

9. Welcoming. The Guyanese people are the warmest and welcoming people I know. I felt right at home the moment I landed in Guyana.

Welcoming

Welcoming

10. Food. Need I say more?

Food

Food

When are you heading to Guyana?==============================================================

Jessica from Turquoise Compass is a teacher at heart, but her true passion is traveling (especially to turquoise beaches), adventure, and trying new things. She has been to 17 countries and she is ready to see more. She has completed over a hundred items on her bucket and encourages others to live life to the fullest, while taking advantage of every opportunity that comes. As you can tell, this hyperactive traveler loves visiting beautiful turquoise destinations.

================================================================All photos and content credits to Jessica, Turquoise Compass

5 comments

  1. Thank you so much for sharing my travel story in Guyana. Guyana is a very unique destination that is rich in culture, history, wildlife, and has one of a kind spectacular views. I hope you get to accomplish your dream of traveling through South America soon! Be sure to stop in Guyana to see all that I’ve mentioned.
    Jessica, Turquoise Compass

  2. Guyana is truly off the beaten Gringo Trail in South America. It’s a place I really know next to nothing about other than the Jonestown tragedy in 1979. These photos definitely provide some inspiration to give the country a look. Curious though, does Guyana have much in the way of beaches?

    1. It really is off the beaten track. I went to Guyana through the Canadian Federation of Teachers on a volunteer project through my provincial teachers union. The majority of my month in Guyana was spent volunteering in a remote desert-like region on the border of Brazil. Although I worked the majority of the time we still went sight seeing, but mostly in mountainous regions, Georgetown, and Kaieteur Falls. As your probably know from my blog Turquoise Compass, I LOVE the beach–but I didn’t get to see any in Guyana while I was there. With that being said, there ARE beaches in Guyana. Check out some of them here: http://www.guyana-tourism.com/index.php?Itemid=20
      I hope to see some the next time I visit. I hope this helps.
      Jessica

Leave a comment

