My favourite italian restaurant in Rio

IMG_7348 IMG_9711

IMG_9724 IMG_9720Once in a while, me and my family enjoy weekend days in Barra da Tijuca. We like not only going to the beach there, as I already mentioned before, but also because my favourite italian restaurant in Rio is located there.

Of course I have not tried all the italian restaurants in Rio, but I can say that I have tried enough, of all price ranges, to elect Fratelli, the one in Barra da Tijuca, as my favourite one. (They have also a branch in Leblon, but I didn’t try it yet.)

I love the food, made with very fresh ingredients, the very attentive staff, the location, just in front of Barra da Tijuca beach and the great view!

Another highligh it’s their wine list, with bottles from different countries like Italy, Brazil, Argentina, New Zealand, Portugal, Chile, France.

The prices can be considered something between medium to high, but for the quality of food and service I find it very fair.

The menu has a great variety of dishes from pasta to fish. I have already tasted the Gnocchi with fresh asparagus, saffron and brie cheese, the Lasagna alla bolognese, the Steamed sole filet with lemon sauce, served with spinach cream. All of them very tasty!

But my favourite dish is the Raviolli alla Caprese, so simple dish, but so delicious! A raviolli stuffed with buffalo mozzarella and cottage, in a tomato sauce and basil.

For dessert, our choice is always the Petit gateau of chocolate and almonds with ice cream and a cup of espresso coffee.

Another good point of Fratelli Barra is that they are a kids-friendly restaurant. On Sundays it is common to see many families with kids having lunch their.

Although it might look a little sophisticated restaurant, the dress code is quite casual at lunch time. We can often see people who just left  the beach, wearing their flip-flops and going to Fratelli for lunch. At dinner time, following the smart casual dress code is a nice choice.

If you have the chance of being in Barra da Tijuca, give a try for Fratelli !!! I bet you won’t regret it!

Fratelli Barra da Tijuca –  Av. Sernambetiba 2916 – Tel: 2494-6644

 

 

2 comments

  1. Santa Satisfação is an amazing little Italian restaurant on Santa Clara in Copacabana. For 45Rs you can eat an amazing plate if Italian food, with very generous servings. Always busy, wakk past it every day and no matter the hour there is never an empty seat. My favourite Italian restaurant in Rio, maybe my favourite restaurant of all….

Leave a comment

