October 12th celebrations!

IMG_0527

Birthday Cake and brazilian birthday sweets

In Brazil, the October 12th is a national holiday, we celebrate the day of Our Lady of Aparecida, the patroness of Brazil, according to catholic religion. Our Lady of Aparecida is a special saint for my family, my father used to be very devoted to Her and I kind of inherited his faith.

Besides being a religious day to some Brazilians, we also have another big celebration, we celebrate Children’s Day! All around the country, on the October 12th there are many special events dedicated to Children. ,

But  there is a third special reason  for making this date even more special for my family! It is my brother’s birthday! He turned 45 today, but he will always have a children’s heart! He is always making us laugh with his jokes and he just looks like a little boy again when he is playing with my son! I remember when we were kids and he kept calling me “gorda”, which means “fat girl”, which made me feel furious. But I also remember his silly jokes and how we played a lot together. He is not a person that likes celebrating his birthday very much, and lately he is always travelling on his birthday, so I had to wish him Happy Birthday by text messages, but anyway I wish he had a lovely day and that he has the best in his life!!

 

 

3 comments

  1. Linda essa mesa de aniversário! Adorei a velinha espiral… E essa estória do seu irmão te chamar de gorda quando crianças no meio das suas brincadeiras me lembrou de “Monica e Cebolinha”… bj, TH

  2. Lembro muito bem como voce ficava zangada quando ele te chamava de gorda e o vc nem era gorda. Ele nasceu no dia certo, porque ele ainda ‘e uma crianca! Bjs

Leave a comment

