Arpoador, the perfect spot to admire sunset in Rio

IMG_1877 IMG_1883 IMG_1891 IMG_1889 IMG_1890 IMG_1896 IMG_1904 IMG_1905 IMG_1907

 

Arpoador, the only place in the world (at least as far as I know)  from where people watch the sun going down clapping. And it is not only another tale about Rio! People,specially during summer, go to Pedra do Arpoador, and really claps their hands while admiring the most beautiful sunset in Rio.

But I have a confession to make! Although I’ve been a thousand times to Arpoador beach, I’ve never watched the sunset from Arpoador rock as lots of tourists and locals do.  As I’ve mentioned somewhere before in this blog I just run away from those crowded spots during summer in Rio. Trying to redeem myself from this terrible mistake, some weeks ago I went up there for the first time with my husband. It was a little early to watch the sun going down, but the scenery from up there is gorgeous at any time of the day.

For those who are not familiar where Arpoador is, Arpoador is the piece of sand between Ipanema beach and the Arpoador Rock ( that rock that you see on your left when looking to the sea at Ipanema beach ). It is a nice beach to visit, for a jump in the sea, to watch the guys and girls surfing  and to feel the real carioca atmosphere in the end of a day.

There is a small and easy trail that takes you to the top of the rock, from where you will be able to see on your left side Praia do Diabo and Copacabana, and on your right side Ipanema, Leblon and Morro Dois Irmãos.

It is a fantastic place to sit down ,breathe the fresh breeze from the sea, let all your thoughts go away and recharge the batteries while admiring the beautiful landscape.

Just some smart tips:

– Don’t let the beautiful scenery make you forget you are in Rio and take care of your belongings;

– Avoid showing off your smartphone or cameras too much, some young delinquents love to rob Iphones and Smartphones in the Arpoador neighborhood;

– During summer time, and that includes not only the official summer, but all the weekends that feels like summer, the area gets crowded and pickpocketing is very usual, specially during sunny Sundays.  So if you can choose, prefer going during the week, it will be quieter and more relaxing!

8 comments

  1. Beautiful pictures! I have been to Arpoador with my husband, but I think I have never walked the trail. One more place to add to my list to go while in Rio! Xoxo

  2. Great post with great pictures! Thanks for the tips. We really want to go back to Brazil and see more! We were so caught up with the World Cup last time, we just didn’t have the time to do much else…..

  3. Hi Cristina,

    I start to write today and as it was about Arpoador, I found your blog by coincidence.
    I liked the whole post, you have described the place perfectly, but I mostly enjoyed reading about the smart tips. After months living here, I am still surprise of how a city can be as beautiful and chaotic at the same time.

    Keep helping us to discover Rio 🙂

    https://summerloveswinter.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

