mourning

IMG_6245

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m extremely sad while writing this post. What happened last Tuesday night could have happened to anyone, including myself or someone of my family. Mourning! That’s the word that define what all of us, cariocas, are feeling this week!

Last Tuesday, a man cycling along Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas cycle path at 7.30pm was attacked and robbed. Criminals stabbed him and get away with his bicycle and wallet. The man, a doctor, got seriously injured and didn’t survive (check here).

This is just another case of the wave of violence we’ve been living in Rio lately. It is not a question of being at the wrong place, at the wrong time, there isn’t any longer the right place or the right time not to be robbed and eventually attacked or killed by those cruel criminals.  Violence is everywhere.

That’s one of the reasons why I’ve been posting so little lately. It is difficult to get enthusiastic about Rio those days! The natural beauties of this city are not enough to smooth the fear when walking down the streets.

If once I used to say, “well in case you get robbed, just give everything the thieves ask and everything is gone be fine”, now this is not truth anymore. Lately what we have seen are criminals attacking first and then taking your belongings. We are living a very difficult situation!!!

I’m so disappointed that this is happening to Rio, and I really don’t see light at the other side of the tunnel. Unless  Government take urgent steps to prevent violence I really don’t know how the future of Rio will be.

Sorry for such a negative post, but I had to share with you guys what I’m feeling about Rio. And I’m just being realistic. And I know that this is not simple!

In case you are in Rio right now, avoid walking or cycling along Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas, as well as in Aterro do Flamengo. It is just not safe.

Hoping to share with you guys good news about Rio soon!

11 comments

  1. So sorry to hear this! I hope peace is restored soon. It’s a shame that we can’t see Rio’s beauty through your lense without the fear of violence. Prior to our trip this past February, your posts really got us excited about visiting Rio. I hope you can continue to inspire future travelers like us.

  2. Cris, I am so sad to hear how the violence is escalating! I had the privilege of visiting Rio for the first time in the months before the World Cup when the government was really cracking down on violence. It was so different then. I was a single woman traveling alone and toured the city solo for 3 months without incident. I would not do that today. Thank you for your honest post here. My heart breaks for Cariocas like you and the friends I met there who don’t feel safe to enjoy your beautiful home. I hope this changes very soon! With love, Kelly

    1. Thanks Kelly! I miss those days before and during World Cup! when I could get around with my camera taking photos and enjoying all the good vibes of the event!! Hoping to share good news with you soon!! Cris

  3. Damn, I’m so sorry to hear this. Sorry for the poor man who’d lost his life and, selfishly, sorry for myself because I’ll be coming in Rio in a couple of week’s time and really wanted to do a lap of the Lagoa, including a visit to the Jardim Botanico and a hike up the peak of the Parque Merquior…

  4. I am so sad to hear about all of the crime in Rio as well. I hope the situation there will take a turn for the better soon. I am keeping you all in my prayers. Take care!

Leave a comment

